OSCA Awards

OSCA has a number of awards which recognise the outstanding alumni in our community.

Honorary Life Membership

Honorary Life Membership is a significant honour bestowed on those whose commitment to the association has been of the highest level.

The presiding OSCA Council determines who is to receive this award and follows the Association’s Honorary Life Membership Guidelines policy.  The Honorary Life Membership is bestowed  at the Association’s AGM and President’s Dinner in November each year.

The 2023 Honorary Life Membership was awarded to Associate Professor Doug Lording (’63) AM.

L-R: Stephen Webster (’73) and Doug Lording (’63)

Doug attended Scotch from 1960 to 1964, winning first class Honours in Pure Mathematics and Chemistry, and second class Honours in Calculus, Applied Mathematics and in Social Studies.   During his years at Scotch, Doug’s involvement in sport included playing in a cricket premiership team, and he was Vice-Captain of the basketball team.  He was also involved in Cadets as a Probationer and a CUO.

On graduating from Scotch, Doug remained connected with his old school as an early member and Captain of the Old Scotch basketball Club and the Old Scotch Cricket Club.

Professionally, Doug graduated with a BMedSc from Monash University in 1971, and he has pursued a long and distinguished career in endocrinology and andrology.   An advocate for men’s health and welfare, he has contributed as a volunteer to community organisations, including founding The Men of Malvern Inc.

Doug is married to Dr Elizabeth McDonald and they have four children; sons, Timothy Lording (’95) and James Lording (’96), and daughters Prudence Lording and Penelope Lording.   Doug and Elizabeth are grandparents to four grandsons; Rupert Herron, currently in Year 5 at Scotch, Charles Herron, currently in Year 1 at Scotch and Thomas Lording, currently in Year 4 at Scotch.  Their cousin, Hugo McCaskill will also attend Scotch.

In 1991, Doug joined the OSCA Council.  He was Vice President from 1995 to 1997 when he stepped down.  Doug re-joined the OSCA Council in 2013 and was subsequently OSCA President from 2016 to 2017.  Doug was also a member of the Scotch College Foundation board from 2014 and he was the Foundation Board President from 2017 to 2023.   In 2015, Doug became a member of the Scotch College Council where he served until 2021.

Doug is one of only 14 Old Boys known to have served in the governance of OSCA, the Foundation and the School Councils.

In 2020, Doug was awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for ‘Significant service to medicine, endocrinology, andrology and to the community’.

Click on the link below for information about membership criteria and the nomination process.

Honorary Life Membership Criteria

Download a Nomination Form : Honorary Life Member Nomination Form


OSCA Merit Award

L-R: Scott Montgomery (’85), Sam Shearer (’10), Carol Davis, Katherine McDonald, Peter Sim (’72) and Stephen Webster (’73)

A Merit Award is bestowed on those whose commitment to an OSCA club or society has been, in the view of its members, of an outstanding nature.

The presiding OSCA Council determines who is to receive this award and follows the association’s Merit Award Guidelines policy.  Merit Awards are bestowed at the association’s AGM and President’s Dinner in November.

The 2023 OSCA Merit Awards recipients:

  • Carol Davis – Victorian Scottish Heritage Cultural Foundation (VSHCF)
  • Katherine McDonald – Old Scotch Music and Drama Club (OSMaD)
  • Richard Piesse (’59) – OS Bushwalking Club and OS Tennis Club
  • Sam Shearer (’10) – OS Soccer club and OS Cricket Club
  • Peter Sim (’72) – Koomerang Ski Club, Cardinal Club and OSCA Council

Click on the link below for information about membership criteria and the nomination process: OSCA Merit Award Nomination Form

Download a Nomination Form : OSCA Merit Award Nomination Form

OSCA Merit Award Recipients – 2006 – 2023

Perelberg Award

The Perelberg award honours the memory of Ashley Perelberg from the Class of 1992, who tragically died of a heart attack at the age of 18 in his first year of university study. Ashley exemplified Scotch spirit throughout his full and enthusiastic involvement while a student at Scotch.

The Perelberg Award has been presented annually since 1993. It is granted in each alternate year to a current student or to one who left in the previous year, or to an Old Scotch Collegian. The key criterion is that the recipient has shown “exemplary Scotch Spirit”.

Ashley’s family presented a silver sculpture depicting the penguin parade at Phillip Island, which was inspired by Ashley’s devotion to the annual Scotch-at-Cowes summer camps on Phillip Island.

The annual winner of the Perelberg Award receives a silver replica of this sculpture which is presented at the schools Year 12 Presentation night

The recipient of the 2022 Perelberg Award is Lachie Finster from the Class of 2022.

Lachie has made significant contributions to Scotch’s culture, particularly in Rugby. In sports, Lachie excelled in First Rugby, captaining the team in Year 12, and leaving a lasting cultural impact. Lachie has coached junior teams and played a pivotal role in events like the 90th Anniversary game, showcasing his passion for Rugby.

As an advocate for justice and respect, Lachie has led discussions on important topics, participated in campaigns promoting diversity, and served as Vice-Captain of Littlejohn, fostering a caring environment within the House. After leaving school, Lachie continues his journey, now pursuing studies in Building Construction Management at Victoria University.


The Perelberg Award

Perelberg Award Nomination Form

Perelberg Award Recipients – 1993 – 2023

Upcoming Events

Join OSCA Connect

Find out about private events, community updates and more on our brand new platform for all alumni, OSCA Connect.

Sign up now

Update your details

Update your mailing address, email and contact settings so we can stay in touch

Update now